Appointment and swearing-in of MEC

Appointment and swearing-in of MEC
FRIDAY, 23 MAY 2014

Hon Judge Sangoni, Judge President of the Eastern Cape Division of the High Court; Deputy Speaker of the Eastern Cape Provincial Legislature;
Provincial Secretary of the ANC; Chairperson & Deputy Chairperson of the House of Traditional Leaders; Director General and Heads of Departments;
Representatives of the various Media Houses;
Ladies and Gentlemen On May 7, 2014, the day of the 5th national and provincial elections in the democratic South Africa, about 2.2 million or 70.32% of the registered voters of the Eastern Cape got out of 
the comfort of their homes to exercise their democratic right to vote. Voting went on peacefully across the length and breadth of our province. For this, we salute our people for their high levels of tolerance and we also credit the political maturity demonstrated by leaders of the registered political parties.
My statement will not be complete without commending the Independent Electoral Commission and the South African security services for the sterling job and the complementary role they have played towards the success of the elections.I wish to acknowledge the overwhelming confidence that the 70.09% of the voters in this Province has been placed in the African National Congress. Consistently since 1994, voters in this Province have endorsed the manifesto of our movement as the one that offers the best solutions to the complex socio-economic challenges facing the Eastern Cape.
Inspired by the National Development Plan, work has already started in converting the election manifesto into a five year government programme – the Provincial Medium Term Strategic Framework. This programme will focus on improving access to quality education and health; growing the economy to create jobs; facilitating investment in agriculture to ensure food security; strengthening the fight against crime and corruption; as well as building integrated human settlements. Subsequently, this programme will be unveiled on the day of the State of the Province Address next month.
Over two decades now, our people have demonstrated trust and worked collaboratively with successive generations of leadership of the ANC and her allies. For this, we remain indebted to the people of our Province. I also wish to thank my predecessor, Comrade Noxolo Kiviet, for her leadership and, similarly, my gratitude goes to Members of the Executive Council of the 4th Administration.
On May 21, 2014, the elected representatives of the people began to exercise the mandate of the electorate and elected the Premier, Speaker and other Presiding Officers of the Legislature. We have applied our minds on the task of setting up the government structure of the 5th Administration. In this regard, we have concluded that in order to improve the alignment of functions in government, planning as well as coordination of women, youth and people with disabilities will be located in the Office of the Premier. Processes to realize this function shift will kick in immediately.
Furthermore, during the course of this year, we will conduct an assessment to determine whether the roads, environmental affairs as well as strategic skills functions are best located where they are currently – in Public Works; Economic Development, Environmental Affairs & Tourism; and Office of the Premier respectively. However, until such time this study is finalized and a report is considered by the Executive Council, the status quo remains.
In my capacity as Premier of the Eastern Cape, I have carefully considered the leadership necessary to enable the Executive Council to take stewardship of the programmes articulated above. I now have the pleasure to announce the appointments of the following Members and their respective Portfolios in the Executive Council:
  1. Mr Mandla Makupula, Education;
  2. Dr Phumza Dyantyi, Health;
  3. Mr Fikile Xasa, Cooperative Governance & Traditional Affairs;
  4. Ms Helen Sauls-August, Human Settlements;
  5. Mr Mlibo Qoboshiyane, Rural Development & Agrarian Reform;
  6. Mr Sakhumzi Somyo, Finance, Economic Development, Environmental Affairs & Tourism;
  7. Ms Tandiswa Marawu, Roads & Public Works;
  8. Ms Weziwe Tikana, Transport, Safety & Liaison;
  9. Ms Nancy Sihlwayi, Social Development; and
  10. Ms Pemmy Majodina, Sport, Recreation, Arts & Culture
This team represents continuity and change in leadership; it boasts of seasoned leaders schooled in the traditions of the congress movement; and, as everyone can attest, equity was well considered in its composition.
I take this opportunity to congratulate the appointed MECs and wish them well in their portfolios and government work that lies ahead. I also ask our organization, the ANC; the Legislature;
stakeholders; media; and the people of the Eastern Cape to support them as much as they shall hold them accountable.
I thank the Hon Judge President of the Eastern Division of the High Court for availing himself to conduct the swearing in of Members of the Executive Council. I will now invite the Hon Judge President to conduct the swearing in ceremony.

Links  Disclaimer

All Right Reserved ©