Premier Masualle appoints six women leaders for his cabinet

Premier Phumulo Masualle has made his mark in championing issues of gender equality as he announced a Provincial Executive Council with a record six women against four men. This, he said will further enhance the strides of the provincial administration towards gender equity and the overall realisation of national targets on gender balance. "We are setting a good example on recognising the ability and capacity of women in leadership and as well as equal role players in society at large."

The Premier highlighted that the newly elected executive council, "represents both continuity and change in leadership, it boasts seasoned leaders schooled in the traditions of the congress movement."

Premier Masualle’s announcement came with a couple of re-alignments in the functioning of departments. The functions of planning, previously located in the Department of Finance and the coordination of Special Programmes (women, youth and people with disabilities) which were located in the Department of Social Development are now be moved to the Office of the Premier. The Department of Economic Development, Environmental Affairs and Tourism now reports to the MEC Finance while Safety and Liaison will report to the MEC Transport.
These adjustment according to Masualle are geared towards ensuring alignment of government functions as well as improve efficiency. Processes to realize this function shift will kick in immediately, he said.
The Premier concluded by congratulating the new EXCO members and commended his predecessor, former Premier Noxolo Kiviet now Speaker of the Legislature for the work that she and her Executive Council have done in the previous term of government.



  • MEC for Health; Dr Pumza Dyantyi
  • MEC for Education; Mr Mandla Makupula MEC for Cooperative Governance & Traditional Affairs; Mr Fikile Xasa
  • MEC for Human Settlements; Ms Helen Sauls-August
  • MEC for Rural Development & Agrarian Reform; Mr Mlibo Qoboshiyane
  • MEC for Finance, Economic Development, Environmental Affairs & Tourism; Mr Sakhumzi Somyo
  • MEC for Roads & Public Works; Ms Tandiswa Marawu
  • MEC for Transport, Safety & Liaison; Ms Weziwe Tikana
  • MEC for Social Development; Ms Nancy Sihlwayi
  • MEC for Sport, Recreation, Arts & Culture; Ms Pemmy Majodina